Tyne Bridge Harriers: 2016 Club Championship

Many congratulations to Finn Affleck-Brodie and Alison Dargie on becoming 2016 Tyne Bridge Harriers Club Champions :thumbsup:

Male Champion: Finn Brodie-Affleck (No. 156)

Male Champion: Finn Affleck-Brodie (No. 156)


Female Champion: Alison Dargie

Female Champion: Alison Dargie



Following the club’s formation in 2011, a different 10K event was used every year as the TBH Club Championship Race.

The Cookson 10K, Morpeth 10K and Tynedale 10K were all used in the early years until, in 2014, it was decided to stick with the Cookson 10K due to it’s date, location and terrific organisation by host club North Shields Poly.

This year’s event saw a massive turn-out of 57 TBH members in the race, with a even spread of runners from Group 1 to Group 5.

First finisher for the club – and thereby winning the Club Championship – was Finn Affleck-Brodie. Congratulations Finn.

Last year’s champion James Dunce came a close second to Finn, narrowly coming undone in the final 50 metres sprint to the finishing line. According to eye-witnesses James gave literally everything in the run-in and took a turn for the worse as he crossed the line. But happily, after a quick bite to eat and taking on board some fluids, James was soon back on his feet.

Ian Pickett was 3rd finisher for the club, with Keith Smith coming in 4th, picking up 1st MV50 prize in the process.

The quartet of Finn, James, Ian and Keith were successful in the Men’s Team race.


Alison Dargie, female club champion in 2014 & 2015, made it 3-in-a-row by posting an impressive time of 38:01. Alison was 3rd female overall in the race and 1st in the FV40 category.

Magda Grinsdale was 2nd for the club, with Louise Lennox and Lucy Matheson completing the first four finishers for the club.

Not to be outdone by the men, Alison, Magda, Louise and Lucy won the Ladies Team race.


Well done to everyone who represented the club and thanks to all the members who went along to offer support.

33:03Finn Affleck-Brodie4th overall, 10K PB & TBH Club Champion (Male)
33:10James Dunce6th overall
35:10Ian Pickett3rd MV35 in race & 10K PB
35:28Keith Smith1st MV50 in race
35:33Jon Moss
35:38Sandy Kerr
36:30Justin Januszewski
36:59David Johnson
37:04Chris Huitson
38:01Alison Dargie1st FV40 in race & TBH Club Champion (Female)
38:31Nick Joyce
38:48Paul Routledge2nd MV55 in race
38:52Jonathan Longrigg
38:56Nick Howell10K PB
40:41Adam Wood
40:51Nick Pearson
41:03Magda Grinsdale
41:28Adrian Hall
42:15Louise Lennox
42:22Lucy Matheson
42:57David Rowe
43:10Michelle Moat
43:07Iain Dalby
43:55David Curran
44:04Catherine Eaton
44:16Chris Sumsion
44:29Rachel Case
44:28Becky Parkin
44:36Lyndsey Thompson
44:50Sara Tomassini
45:18Rachel Adamson
45:11Rachael Perowne
45:16Karen Walker2nd FV50 in race
45:19Steve Attley
45:53Laura Irving
46:18Tyrone Murphy
46:39Andrew Sears
47:23Asari Rashid
47:31Chris Parkin
47:53Claire McElduff
47:48Rachael Estrop
48:11Simon Kirkley
49:17Gill Parkin
49:29Andrew Keogan
51:03Sarah Danielles
51:54Imogen Barr
53:21Stephanie Isaac
52:53Gemma Lynch
52:57Eleanor Dowding
53:28Dawn Parker
53:56Alison Bulman
53:49Clare Savory
55:19Lauren Gardner
55:37Jenny Headland
59:20Charly Blackburn
60:13Helen Ashburner
60:28Louise Kelly
68:18Debbie Wardle
Full results can be found here.
TBH won Men's team prize.Finn, James, Ian & Keith
TBH won Women's team prize.Alison, Magda, Louise & Lucy


Thanks to Lee Cuthbertson for the photographs.

Permanent link to this article: https://www.tynebridgeharriers.com/2016/05/18/tyne-bridge-harriers-2016-club-champions/


    • Big Ron on 19th May 2016 at 07:06
    • Reply

    Why is there no masters club champions? Surely a club our size should recognize these runners also

    • Helen Ashburner on 19th May 2016 at 19:52
    • Reply

    My name isn’t on the list… I finished in 1 hour 13 seconds, Helen

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.