Saltwell 10K Road Race 2012 – Provisional Results

Normally, standing around in pouring rain and getting battered from bitterly cold winds wouldn’t rank high on my list of ‘things to do on a Saturday afternoon’, but last Saturday was the exception to the rule. Watching so many club members take part in Saltwell Harriers annual 10K Road Race was a joy to behold (although I’m not sure the runners were enjoying themselves at the time) and never has been getting soaked to the skin been more worthwhile.

The rain was relentless all afternoon, and with standing water all around the course conditions were far from ideal for running quick times, but despite all that, several members managed to run PB’s during the race, including Kevin Jeffress with a great time of 35:17, a PB by almost 10 seconds. This got Kevin to 8th place overall, with Sparrow Morley just a few places behind in 12th, with 36:46.

The race was won by Matthew Armstrong (Blaydon Harriers) in 32:17, with Alyson Dixon (Sunderland Strollers) the first lady finisher, with 36:28.

Other notable TBH finishers were Mark Hall (21st), Dave Moir (25th) and Simon Pryde (45th), whom together won the Veteran Men Teams prize.

There were some fantastic performances by the TBH ladies too, with Sophie Marr (3rd Senior lady) and Catherine Willis (5th Senior lady) both picking up prizes.

But as I said earlier, everyone who competed in their TBH vest should be congratulated. To run in such appalling conditions is more a test of mental strength as opposed to physical, and just confirmed what a superb bunch of runners we now have at the club.

Special mention to all those who went along in support of their fellow club members. From speaking to some of the runners after the race, I know the cheers and shouts of support were greatly appreciated by everyone.

Unfortunately, because of the amount of water on the finishing line, some of the timing chips did not register as they crossed the timing mats, and as a result race organisors can only supply provisional results at the moment. These can be found at the bottom of the page.


Members results (provisional)

Overall PositionNameFinish Time
8Kevin Jeffress00:35:17
12Sparrow Morley00:36:46
21Mark Hall00:38:17
25David Moir00:38:34
33Rob Wishart00:39:11
45Simon Pryde00:40:27
55Mark Jackson00:41:32
62Sophie Marr00:42:10
71Catherine Willis00:42:49
81Nick Varley00:43:37
86David Antill00:43:47
113Euan Clubbs00:45:36
131Lucy Matheson00:46:16
156Nicholas Pearson00:47:38
170Stuart Dickson00:48:57
173Chris Parkin00:49:06
175Emma Wright00:49:09
196Ryan Hogben00:52:11
199Kerry Reed00:52:20
220Kevin Cheetham00:53:32
224Caroline Smith00:53:53
267Jane Picken00:57:11
267David Taylor00:57:11
283Kate Gordon00:59:03
304Stephanie Mcfarlane01:02:14
310Julie Shaw*00:50:43
313Scott Wilkinson01:04:06
314Sara Sedgley01:04:08



* to be confirmed


A set of provisional results can be found on the power of 10 website here

Permanent link to this article:


  1. Please let me know if your name is missing from the results and I’ll add it asap.

      • Julie Shaw on 26th December 2012 at 14:42
      • Reply

      My time is 50.43 I think my chip packed up. I hope everyone else enjoyed the run as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.