May 15 2017

Print this Post

2017 President’s Shield

UPDATE: 15th May 2017

Following Sunday’s Pier To Pier race – the fourth event in the series – the latest points table of the 2017 President’s Shield can be viewed below.

NameBlyth 10KNT 10KWallsend 5KPier To PierTotal
David Young10512585125440
Matthew Pearson9012070110390
Louise Lennox1250105145375
Tom Crossley1101301000340
Simon Kirkley95125650285
Roger Heath01058095280
Craig Davison11500135250
Andrew Sears8511500200
Richard Tailford600900150
David Daniels013000130
John Tollitt013000130
Adrian Hall012500125
Charlie Townsend000115115
Iain Dalby00000


The next event takes place on Wednesday, 24th May, at the Clive Cookson 10K race.


Members can enter the President’s Shield at any time during the year, but previous race results won’t count towards their final score.


Read below for competition details.


The President’s Shield is a free-to-enter competition open to ALL TBH members.


Members compete in a series of pre-selected races throughout the year, with points awarded on participation and finishing position. Bonus points are also awarded for winning an individual or team prize. (note: members must pay their own entry fee for each race).


To make the competition fair for all members, participation points are awarded on a sliding scale, so members from the five training groups are awarded different points (Group 1 runners 15 pts – Group 5 runners 75 pts)


There are ten scoring events, with the best eight results counting towards a member’s final score.


If you would like to take part in the competition, simply add your name/training group to the comments section below.


2017 President’s Shield Races

Blyth 10KSun, 9th AprilRace Details
North Tyneside 10KSun, 16th AprilRace Details
Wallsend (Terry O'Gara) 5KSun, 23rd AprilRace Details
Pier to Pier MTSun, 14th MayRace Details
Clive Cookson 10KWed, 24th MayRace Details
Newburn River RunWed, 14th JuneRace Details
Sunderland 5KThurs, 13th JulyRace Details
Tynedale 10KWed, 5th JulyRace Details
Middlesbrough 10KSun, 3rd SeptemberRace Details
Town Moor (Heaton) Memorial 10KSun, 12th NovemberRace Details


Skip to comment form

  1. RH

    Roger Heath – Group 5 (no half marathon this year!)

  2. Iain

    Iain Dalby – Group 3

  3. David Young

    David Young Group 3

  4. Paul Routledge

    Paul Routledge – Group 2

  5. Badger

    John Tollitt – Group 2

  6. Charlie townsend

    Charlie Townsend – group 1

  7. Louise L

    Louise Lennox Group 3

  8. Matthew Pearson

    Matthew Pearson – group 4

  9. Craig Davison

    Craig Davison – Group 3

  10. Iain

    Well – I missed the entries for Blyth and North Tyneside and I’m away for the Terry O’ Gara and Pier 2 Pier….not a good start!!

  11. Richard Tailford

    Group 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *